Nowadays, animal habitats are increasingly under threat from mining projects. Some believe that stopping these projects to protect species is more important than proceeding , whilst others disagree . Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The question of whether or not to support mining projects has provoked controversy among public. While it appears logical for saying that mining projects should be prohibited as they can pose threats to the wildlife habitat, many people advocate the continuation of these projects for many reasons. Both argument will be analyzed before I present my own opinion.

On one hand, in support of mining projects, advocates maintain

that mining activities can pave the way for economic growth in many disadvantaged regions by offering job opportunities to local people and generating more income. For instance, Australia has recently witnessed a mining boom which provides work to thousands of people and exert a positive impact on regional economy. Although some people argue that mining is considered double-edge sword, its merits are worth considering.

On the other hand, mining projects are often associated with environmental concerns. Overexploitation can trigger devastation which directly results in the loss of wildlife habitat. What it comes down to is that native species will no longer have home to survive which poses a threat to endangered ones. To illustrate this point, Brazil is a perfect example for the overexploitation of mine that leads to the irreparable damage to environment and causes thousands of species to be on the brink of danger. Although many contend that the influence is insignificant and the reduction in the number of some species reflects the so-called biological balance, this appears illogical since those animals are important parts of the ecosystem. Thus, it can be seen why environmentalists insist in stopping mining projects.

Taking everything into consideration, I am inclined to believe

that mine exploitation should be discontinued due to its detrimental impact on the environment. Nonetheless, in coming years, when people figure out mining methods that are friendlier to the natural environment, mining projects could be advocated for their upsides to the economic aspects.