Technological innovations in this 21st century have caused more harm than good. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Technological developments over the past few decades have dramatically changed the world we live in. Although the majority of people believe that machinery innovation has made people’s lives easier, some argue that it can exert an adverse impact on human life. Personally, I strongly agree with the former viewpoint which champions the merits of technology.

Firstly, the breakthrough in term of technology has made a substantial contribution to the improvement of people’s health. Medical device advance takes vital roles in healthcare from measuring blood pressure to conducting complex surgery. For instance, people who suffer from brain tumors which used to be incurable in the past, are now given hope for recovery with the help of modern medical machines. Despite the fact that many argue that human health much depends on healthy lifestyle which is the key factor to longevity, statistics show that people average age has significantly improved, especially in the developed countries in which technology has greatly innovated. It is therefore clear that improved technology can lead to the increased healthcare quality.

Second, the 21st century has witnessed the huge achievement in Internet and computer science which brings about an endless lists of benefits for human life including education. Internet advance makes knowledge accessible to learner regardless of educational background and allows learning and teaching to be viable during natural disaster or pandemic. A good example is the outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic which has made learning and teaching impossible in classrooms. However, with the help of computers and Internet connection, knowledge is continually transferred to learners at the most stringent time. Although many people argue that Internet development leads to detrimental impacts on young people, I believe that young generation can make judicious choice to minimize the negative effect and take advantage of the 21st innovations.

In consideration of the abovementioned viewpoints, I strongly disagree with the idea that technological improvement causes more downsides than upsides. Despite some inevitable problems, technology innovations deserve what they have benefited our life. In the foreseeable future, technological advancement will continue to influence human world for both good and bad.