Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The question of whether or not people should exclude art from school syllabus has generated controversy among general public. While some people consider art an indispensable subject, others argue that learning art appears futile for learners. Both arguments will be analyzed before I put forward reasons why I agree with the later view.

On the one hand, advocates champion the idea that art should play a part of teaching module for learners, especially, at young age. Experts have proved that art can contribute to children’s cognitive development by stimulating their creativity and observation. Although there are those who argue that art fails to profit children’s future career, it is possible that learning art helps explore learners’ inborn aptitude which can bring about great career opportunity in their future. A case in point is film industry, in which artists can generate a huge amount of fame and wealth with their talents.

On the other hand, many hold the view that learning art is fruitless; therefore, it should be removed from the teaching curriculum. Art can be a burdensome for those who do not own any vocation for art and exert some negative impact on children’s performance in other subjects. What is more, art also fails to convey any value in the digital world of work in the future where key subjects such as math and science are crucial. Despite the fact that people believe art can bring merit to children’s intellectual development, parents can register an art course for their children to pursue in case they have some innate abilities.

Taking everything into consideration, I am inclined to believe that educators should take into more consideration when it comes to excluding art from school program. Personally, I support the view that art does not play crucial role in children’s academic success. In the foreseeable future, art can be an elective subject and no longer a nightmare for those without an aptitude.