In this day and age, it is argued that it is necessary for the young to learn art in academic settings; however, others state that this subject is time-consuming. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own perspective.

On the one hand, some people suppose that art is an important field for adolescents at school. When children start to have access to drawing lessons, they can learn how to combine colors to create the mixture color they desire as well as form a structure of a picture through squiggly lines. During this process, young people can develop creativity and intelligence that can be seen as the first step in perfecting the mind. According to research results from the University of Michigan, children who are exposed to the arts early have a higher probability of success in later life. In addition, this subject helps the youth orientate their future career because they find their true passion early and have much more time to carry it out.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that others are of the opinion that art is a wasteful subject. In particular, when a person is forced to do something that they are not interested in or agree with, they feel discouraged as well as prejudiced against it. Similar to art, students who are not gifted in the arts do not seem to have too much interest in this subject. Therefore, the inclusion of art in the curriculum puts children under more academic pressure, and at the same time does not bring too much learning effect for them. Besides, if fine arts are included, this means that students have less time for other subjects than in the past. Therefore, many parents think that their children cannot focus on subjects that will be more helpful to their children's future jobs.

To conclude, people possess different opinions about whether the schools should put art into curriculum or that would be a waste of time. However, I am inclined that the opinion of the students is the key factor before the school makes the decision to teach art in the school.