It is argued that tertiary education should be complementary for all students. From my point of view, I completely agree with this opinion and I will explain in this essay.

On the one hand, free education brings numerous benefits to students. Firstly, it gives students from all different social classes more opportunities to get into college. In particular, tuition fees at university level are much more expensive than other levels of study. By not charging any fees from students, students can pursue their academic career and gain useful specialized knowledge that will greatly support their future work from highly qualified professors or lecturers. Moreover, people who hold a university degree will get a well-paid job rather than people who do not get a higher education. With a university degree, deprived students are able to obtain better employment after graduating. In other words, they can improve the quality of life of their family and themselves by doing things such as shopping, supporting their family's living expenses and buying a house of their own.

On the other hand, allowing university students to study for free also has many disadvantages. When tuition is cut, students do not have to pay fees for it and then they tend not to value learning. It is clear that students play an important role in national economic development. If academic neglect is continued coupled with the quality of educational output is not guaranteed, it is completely unprofitable for the country's development. Furthermore, career imbalance can happen in a negative direction. If all people have the opportunity to go to college as well as earn a job with high income, jobs with low wages will not attract many people. Although they are not well-paid jobs, most of them make a great contribution to society. For example, when factories that produce consumer goods do not employ the necessary number of workers, they cannot meet the market demand and the volume of products sold. This can lead to price spikes and huge damage to the economy.

To conclude, people have different opinions about whether educational institutions should not charge any fees from all students or just give them free to those with special circumstances. I am inclined that higher education should be free for all students for various benefits to people as well as to society.