In modern society, it is argued that all criminals should receive prison sentences; however, others state that more and more effective methods can be taken to penalize these people. This essay will discuss both views and then I will give my own perspective.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people hold the belief that offenders should go to jail. In particular, prison sentences can be seen as a good way to reduce crime rate. By participating in useful activities inside the prison such as labor, vocational training and law-related content which has helped prisoners move towards a more positive life. Thus, they can become good citizens after being out of jail. In addition, when criminals are sentenced to prison, they have limited freedom in a particular area as well as be subject to the supervision of jailers. Therefore, they cannot commit illegal acts that pose a serious threat to society. Apparently, this significantly contributes to making society safer and more peaceful.

On the other hand, others think that there are better ways to punish lawbreakers. Firstly, the government should provide education and vocational training for people who commit minor crimes such as shoplifting or pickpocketing. This action helps them to learn and improve their job skills to earn a stable income by their own efforts. Moreover, by allowing these people to engage in rehabilitation programs, they have a chance to realize their mistakes and find themselves again. Besides, heavier punishments should be given by the authorities to those who commit serious crimes such as murder, espionage and embezzlement in order to punish these people as well as show the fairness of the law. By introducing severe punishments, the state can restrain a large proportion of those who have committed or intend to commit crimes that reduce crime rate.

To conclude, people possess different opinions about whether all offenders should be served prison or other methods can be used to penalize these people. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that they should be penalized based on the extent to which their behavior is a misdemeanor or a felony.