Nowadays, more and more young people tend to take a break from studying after graduating from high school to travel or work before entering university. Even though there are some drawbacks behind this practice, I still hold the belief that the merits overshadow the demerits.

Admittedly, losing academic momentum and rusting knowledge are two main obstacles which the young can face when they take a gap year. Firstly, if they spend too much time working and traveling, they do not desire to continue to pursue higher education in the future. They had appealing experiences as well as unforgettable memories. As a result, they think that they should spend their whole time undertaking a job rather than being involved in tertiary education. In addition, it is difficult for students to catch up with their peers and the study progress because they bury the comprehension in oblivion. Apparently, when they focus on traveling coupled with working, they do not have opportunities to review and practice their specialized knowledge for a long time. Therefore, they seem to encounter many troubles after going back to their academic environment for study.

However, I am inclined to think that the young can gain more work-related skill experiences together with hands-on knowledge. In terms of working, in the process of young people taking up a job, they have more chances to get exposed to a wide range of work environments, colleagues and many unexpected problems. Thus, they can obtain firsthand experiences and enhance their soft skills such as problem-solving and time management which are necessary assistance for them in the career path. Moreover, traveling provides students with various real-life knowledge. For example, if students move to another country, they will broaden their horizons by learning about the local people’s life and culture. This aims to bring to the young a well-rounded life which develops themselves.

To conclude, although taking a year off can bring some hindrances, the advantages still outweigh the disadvantages. Having abreaks can help students better themselves by developing new skills and forming a more holistic perspective.