Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages while others believe that it would be a waste of money

In this day and age, there is a small number of people speaking minority languages and this practice brings ones to the brink of extinction. Some people believe that more government money is needed to preserve these languages; however, others state that this is extravagant. This essay will consider both views and then I will give my own perspective.

On the one hand, many people argue that authorities should invest money in the protection of minority languages. In particular, language seems to be the soul of ethnic culture because it is a means of communication and exchanging customs and habits among ethnic groups. With each language that dies, people lose a huge cultural legacy as well as the connection of a group of people to the world. For example, each of the 54 ethnic groups in Vietnam has its own language that represents their cultural identity. Moreover, when tourists come to a country, they tend to be attracted by the unique cultural features and are willing to spend money to participate in these cultural experiences. As a result, this significantly contributed to developing the national tourism and economy.

On other hand, others think that making every possible effort to save minority languages is wasteful. Firstly, these languages are less popular than other languages. Therefore, if the state wants to attract more learners to minority languages, they have to pour a huge amount of money into relevant materials, proficient teachers and promotion. In addition, financial ability together with economic situation has adverse effects on language maintenance. Apparently, money should be a priority spent on other public services namely traffic, infrastructure and environment in many poor countries to enrich the quality of citizens' life rather than language conservation.

To conclude, people possess different opinions about whether the government should allocate a budget to language protection or that would be a waste of money. However, I strongly believe that economic status and national budget availability are important factors that should be considered by the government before making decisions about language minority conservation.