Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The question of whether or not art should be excluded from a school syllabus has generated controversy among the general public. While some people consider art an indispensable subject, others argue that learning art appears futile for learners. Both arguments will be analyzed before I put forward some reasons why I agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, advocates champion the idea that art plays a part in teaching learners, especially those at a young age. Experts have proved that art can contribute to children’s cognitive development by stimulating their observation and creativity. For example, while they learn how to draw, their ability to design things innovatively can be improved, promising them a career in fashion. Although there are those who argue that art fails to guarantee children’s future career, it is possible that learning art helps them explore their potential aptitude, which can bring about great career opportunities in their future. A case in point is the film industry in which artists can generate a huge amount of fame and wealth thanks to their artistic talents. It is thus clear that art is an essential subject on which school children are advised to focus.

On the other hand, many hold the view that learning art is fruitless; therefore, it should be removed from the teaching curriculum. Art can be burdensome for those who do not own any vocation for art , and it can also exert some disruptive impact on children’s performance in other subjects. What is more, art does not seem to carry much value in the digital world of work in the future where key subjects such as math and science are more practical and therefore crucial for success. Despite the fact that people believe art can bring merits to children’s intellectual development, the time for learning art should instead be invested in something else that can increase students’ chance of becoming successful in today’s scientifically and economically globalized world. The decision to give art an official status in an academic program therefore needs to be reconsidered.

Taking everything into consideration, I am inclined to believe that educators should take art into careful consideration when it comes to whether or not to treat art as an essential part of a school program. Personally, I support the view that art does not play a crucial role in children’s academic success despite some of its inevitable contributions. In the foreseeable future, art will likely be an elective subject and therefore no longer a nightmare for those without an aptitude.