Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development

In contemporary society, it is noticeable that there is an income disparity between well-known people in the entertainment business and those who work for legislative service. This gap can be explained by their distinctive sources of income, and in my opinion, it results in disadvantages for society’s development.

To commence with, the income difference comes from the fact that celebrities can derive income from diversified sources while politicians’s salary depends on the quite tight state budget. Notably, famous stars make money not only from their primary professions but also from lucrative endorsement deals with corporate giants. To illustrate, apart from film casting compensation, internationally renowned actors amass substantial wealth through ambassador agreements with major fashion brands like Channel, and Louis Vuitton. By contrast, people working in national organizations rely on fixed salaries and are constrained by their roles in the political arena, which seldom intersect with the commercial world. In fact, politicians are generally banned from cultivating commercial connections with corporations to avoid the abuse of power leading to their limited income packages.

From my perspective, the pay gap between celebrities and politicians poses a negative impact on social mobility. First and foremost, it represents inequity as governmental officials are those who make more significant social changes. A lawmaker enhancing social welfare that affects the lives of millions deserves to be paid a decent salary as a singer who is made popular by the media. In addition, lower pay for politicians might discourage talented people from applying for governmental organizations, causing a shortage of effective lawmakers. If this shortage is prolonged, it can reduce the effectiveness of **the state system and the overall development of a country.

In conclusion, the fact that celebrities are using multiple channels to increase their wealth while politicians heavily rely on their state-sponsored salary is causing an enormous pay gap between them. However, I consider this trend to be unjustifiable as it fails to fairly compensate for the contribution of officials and demotivates productive individuals to join the government.