These days children quite rarely get along with others of their age group. Consequently, this hinders their psychological progression and understanding of society to great extent. There do exist some reasons for the exhibition of this behavior. This is definitely a negative influence on them. This essay provides reasons and discusses the grim effects of reduced socializing among children.

To begin with, video games are the primary reason for children isolating themselves gradually. The vibrant color combinations and surreal graphics have been luring children into video games and making them utilize all their leisure time mostly in front of a computer or a mobile phone. For example, a study by Harvard University found that 65% percent of children are addicted to online games and show minimum interest in physical games that include others. In addition, they are fascinated by various cartoon programs aired on television rather than spending time with their fellow kids. These shows include fantasy stories and exquisite locations that are quite appealing to the underaged. As an illustration, most of the underaged are intrigued by animated series and just can get over it. As a whole, video games and television shows are inhibiting children from participating in group activities like games.

Eventually, this has some negative impacts on kids. Firstly, although most of them enjoy games and shows, the reduced physical activity among children creates a myriad of health-related problems in them and even leads to obesity. For instance, according to a survey, almost 30 percent of children under the age of 12 are suffering from obesity which is quite abnormal when compared to previous generations. Also, spending most of the time in isolation would impact the social behavior of children adversely. Their confidence would diminish while surrounded by people and may even feel intimidated and hesitant to communicate with others. To demonstrate, most of the children who do not get along with others at an earlier age become introverted and do not share their problems with people around them. In other words, this creates an alarming situation by posing both physical and mental threats to children.

In conclusion, there are reasons like addiction to games and television for the reduction of socializing among children. This is not ideal for them as it disrupts the physical and mental well-being of children.