Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that due to consumer confidence regarding both the overall condition of the economy and their personal financial future, many parts of the world have witnessed a rise in the level of spending on consumer goods ranging from food and clothing to luxury items such as jewelry and electronics. However, notwithstanding its benefits, the effects of such a trend seem to be largely negative.

On the one hand, it is argued that high demands for consumer items could be accompanied by several favorable economic and social impacts. To begin with, boosting the production, more quest for these products could create more employment possibilities, bolstering the economy and as such, uplifting the standard of living in a country during the course of time. Hence, more people could be lifted out of poverty and into a stable middle class. In a similar way, positive social conducts would prevail in society and crime rates would be diminished accordingly, as prospering from an enhanced quality of life, individuals would have a less tendency for committing the crime and anti-social behaviors.

On the flip side, I concur with the view taken by many people that the more people spend on consumer goods, the more adverse consequences would inevitably arise. Firstly, aspiring to achieve more, individuals would tend to pursue material gains, unintentionally equating happiness with owning the latest fashion items, indulging in eating and drinking, and going on extravagant vacations. This is perhaps the biggest problem that would plague our world. Such a craving would also make people more workaholic and, in turn, bring tension and stress to people’s lives. Furthermore, consumerism would undoubtedly pose detrimental effects to the environment, as undue consumption would both accelerate natural resource depletion and make a negative contribution to climate change.

In conclusion, while the merits of spending a great deal of money on consumer goods could be recognizable, I believe that it would certainly bring more harm than doing good.