Children who have brothers and sisters often have better social development than an only
child. The government should therefore give money to parents to have two or more
children.’ What do you think about this proposal?
In the past, due to high levels of infant mortality and the unavailability of birth control
methods, families tended to be extensive. Recently, there has been a marked reduction in
the number of babies born. The percentage of children who are growing up without
siblings is definitely on the rise and leading experts have suggested that this trend could
be damaging. However, I find the proposal to offer a financial incentive for parents to
have extra children quite frankly appalling and abhorrent.
The first point worth making is that even if it could be proved that those who grow up
surrounded by siblings are more mature and better adapted to society, it does not
naturally follow that society would be healthier if everyone had this background. Variety
is necessary in order for a culture to be harmonious and successful. Even though those
from large families might have better communication skills, only children possess other
abilities like determination, independence or higher levels of concentration. It is precisely
the interaction of individuals with different strengths, weaknesses and character traits
which makes society stronger.
In addition, it could be argued that this policy would have several unfortunate
consequences. Parents who only wanted one child might be attracted by the possibility of
receiving a payment for a second one, resulting in unwanted and unloved babies being
born. Furthermore, revenue wasted on this strategy could not be used to fight poverty or
build infrastructure. Finally, childless couples may resent public funds being used to
incentivise others to produce more babies.
In conclusion, I see absolutely no benefits to paying parents to increase the size of their
family. I would be upset if any government attempted to implement this approach. It
would suggest to me that the political leaders concerned did not have a fundamental
grasp of how the world works.