Countries are often very keen to hold a major sporting event such as The Football World
Cup or The Olympic Games. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of holding an
important international sporting competition.
Those in charge of major nations are often desperate to stage top international football
tournaments, athletics meetings or cycle races. Governments have been known to spend
millions trying to persuade sporting organisations like The IOC to bring events to their
areas. However, although holding a tournament can be advantageous and lucrative,
potential bidders should not lose sight of the possible hazards and pitfalls.
Without doubt, the most obvious benefit is financial. New stadia, accommodation,
transportation links and other infrastructure projects go ahead. This provides a boost for
the local construction industry. Similarly, temporary service-sector jobs are created whilst
the tournament is taking place. Finally, tourism is likely to increase, providing further
economic prosperity.
A slightly less tangible advantage is related to national pride. Citizens feel rightly pleased
that their nation has managed to stage such a prestigious event. The country’s reputation
grows as it becomes connected with the success of the competition in question. This too
could translate into economic success: businesses from a country associated with
competence find it easier to do deals worldwide.
However, the downsides can be considerable. Firstly, the immense cost can exceed the
profits. A region may need to borrow capital to fund building projects and could have to
raise taxes significantly. In addition, the facilities and public amenities constructed might
rarely be required again. Finally, there is the distinct possibility that something will go
terribly wrong. Poor organisation, a transport-workers’ strike, political unrest or even a
terrorist attack could mar a city’s reputation for generations.
Evidently, cities hoping to stage The Asian Games or The European Football
Championships should recognise that, as well as substantial rewards, there are serious
risks. They might produce an internationally-acclaimed success or a total disaster. I would
recommend that political leaders think carefully before entering the bidding process.