Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because

people follow the same media. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the

disadvantages?

We are now living in the era of global trends. As a result, it is obvious that countries are becoming increasingly closer together in all aspects of social and economic life, including the media. Some people, however, consider that such uniformity is not entirely advantageous. This essay will look at both sides of this issue.

First, one advantage of the same media is that people can update information easily and quickly. This will bring numerous benefits because information and knowledge are the main factors in the economic well-being of society. For example, people in developing countries can use the internet to access free information and knowledge sources for studying and learning. When people's awareness is raised, they will be able to make more money, which contributes to the economic well-being of the country. Secondly, people may have more opportunities to embrace different cultures. This helps to integrate better and is also in line with the global trend. However, cultural interference bring disadvantages as well.

When everyone uses the same media, a global society emerges that is devoid of the cultural uniqueness of countries. That is vital in the way everyone identifies themselves and where they belong. For example, although Japan is a rich cultural Asian country, they have now abandoned the Lunar New Year in favour of the Western New Year to accommodate international business hours. As a result, cultural diversity is dwindling.

To summarize, despite the fact that there are several negatives in the media, I believe the advantages of this issue outweigh the disadvantages.