Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this. Why is this happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Along with the era of modernization and integration, people gradually become accustomed to the hustle and bustle of their life as well as their dependency on technologies, which have so much to do with the reason why families are not as close as in the past. Furthermore, whereas it is argued that this problem might bring us advantages that will open another chapter in human history, I strongly believe that its drawbacks outweigh its merits and will negatively influence our future.

The addiction to modern devices and youngsters’ busier lifestyles give rise to the distance among family members. In recent years, more and more state-of-the-art technology has emerged and given birth to the penchant for being glued to the so-called most fascinating devices there are. In the meantime, the bustling lifestyles of the young also negatively influence the atmosphere within each family. Cutting down on their time for family, young people are inclined to spend more time working and pursuing their personal advantages, namely both material and spiritual advantages. To illustrate, youngsters attempt to get promoted, hence, receive higher salaries which can meet all of their personal satisfaction. Particularly, there has been a survey showing that in most megacities, the young and elderly stated that they spend most of their time keeping up with the pace of life rather than socializing with their beloved family members. Worse, their family reunions scarcely occur.

This ongoing trend comes along with both advantages and disadvantages. However, it is believed that its shortcomings have the edge over its merits. To begin with, it would be a loss if we did not acknowledge the benefits, which are that everyone would be more likely to acquire more accomplishments on their path to success. What is more, they will manage to chase their own passions. On the other hand, when it comes to drawbacks, ruining family happiness would be mentioned in the first place. Following this outcome, family members will unquestionably lack mutual understanding. The less fragile this connection is, the fewer thoughts among family members are shared with each other. Accordingly, the children will commit crimes easily because of lacking parents’ instructions and orientation. What is more, when parents do not fully understand their children, it will bring out many irreconcilable debates. Far more serious are many mental problems, such as depression, anxiety disorders, and mood disorders. To give an example, there are many cases in which children commit suicide after having had many disputes with their parents. The rationale of these decisions is that they feel as though they are not fully comprehended, and therefore deduced that their parents are trying to control their lives excessively.

Pursuing personal advantages is everyone’s privilege. However, it is our duty that we need to balance work and family to avoid family misunderstandings, which have a direct impact on each individual’s development in society.