Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that exposure to a second language at the very first stage of the learning process, particularly in elementary schools, seems to be more beneficial when compared to in secondary schools. In my view, I strongly support this idea. What is more, I am also of the opinion that the plus side of this notion overshadows the minuses.

Firstly, regarding the benefits, children appear to be better at absorbing the language. During the time when everything that seems just a bit unusual can arouse their curiosity, they are prone to be enthusiastic about something novel, which is the key to the successful learning process, especially when it comes to a language. Thanks to this, children not only become more likely to be fluent at a very young age but also can maintain that ability until adulthood. Take my student as a specific example. She is turning 7 years old now and started learning English when she aged 4 or 5. I guarantee that she can fully understand what I say in English and would be able to respond to me very well. This is a result of sufficient exposure and accurate ways of utilizing a child’s enthusiasm for learning.

On the other hand, the abundant amount of learning would lead to confusion. When children are confronted with too much knowledge and they have no idea what and how to take it all in, it is inevitable for them to get confused. If teachers do not take any action to maintain their students’ excitement, children might become frustrated and, even worse, refuse to get involved in the learning process. As a result, their language development is hindered, and they could not make any progress in the learning process unless there is a well-structured curriculum. My experience might best exemplify this. Back to the time when I was just a primary student, I had a whale of a time studying English. Then time went by, I felt that the lessons were no longer fascinating to me anymore and any English lesson is torturing me. Not until did I met my favorite teacher that my English level gradually increased.

Briefly, I firmly believe that children starting their language learning process at an early age would benefit them in their learning route later on. Even though there are several specific pros and cons of this idea, personally, I assume that its merits of this surpass its shortcomings. Letting children practice using the language at the first stage of the learning process will allow them to express themselves smoothly and maintain this ability until they mature.