Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports for younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is one viewpoint indicating that high schools’ curricula must require students to get involved in activities in the community services without being paid. However, I consider this belief to be against my opinion and somewhat implausible. It is not students’ responsibility and participating in these activities will, to some extent, afflict their performance at school.

The primary reason for not compelling students to join in community services lies in the fact that tackling these social issues must be the government’s duty, not students. I firmly believe that students’ main concentration must be on study affairs and activities that facilitate their self-development such as sports or arts. While it is undeniable that we should encourage them to care more about their surrounding environment, it is not students’ who must be in charge of social problems around them, but instead, they must take responsibility for their academic achievements.

Additionally, this type of activity, when compulsory, will play as a distraction from students’ academic performance. Rather than giving studying the highest priority, students would switch their attention to organizing and managing those community services as effectively as possible. By doing so, it is apparent that they will spend less of their time studying. Even if they manage to equally split their time, students will be under enormous pressure and this will negatively affect their health, both physically and mentally.

All things considered, what students need to focus on are their academic stuff and the way leading to self-development so that they could be the best version of themselves. Everything related to community services must be of the authorities’ concern.