Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.

Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, international tourism is generating enormous financial wealth and has become the primary source of income for numerous countries around the globe. Although many people think this industry is likely to cause tension, my conviction is that international tourism greatly facilitates understanding between people of different cultural backgrounds.

There are indeed several instances where international travel created social conflicts. One recent incident occurred when Logan Paul, a renowned Youtuber, visited Japan and ridiculed Japanese traditions and lifestyles. Such mockery caused tremendous public outrage and prejudice against this young American. Another example is the inappropriate and selfish behavior of a group of Chinese tourists during a buffet dinner party in a Thai tourist destination a few years ago. Even though these examples do not represent the attitudes and behavior of the rest of the American and Chinese populations, they, as a matter of fact, did increase tension between the countries involved.

That being said, visiting a foreign country will most likely help tourists to understand more about the local customs and lifestyles. While mass media, such as TV or newspapers, gives people some exposure to foreign cultures, overseas tourists tend to have more authentic and unique experiences that lead to a more profound understanding. This is extremely important because embracing cultural differences is key to establishing and maintaining social relationships in this day and age.

In conclusion, international tourism allows overseas visitors to experience different cultures and can therefore connect people through a mutual understanding. In my opinion, we should not merely judge the industry based on a small number of situations where conflicts arose from the misconduct of only a handful of individuals.