For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, opinions are divided as to whether children’s cognitive ability and social development depend primarily on teachers or parents. While teacher’s role is perceived as the main contributor, I believe it is not to say that parents’ responsibility has no redeeming features to youngsters.

On the one hand, there are several justifications why mentors act as influences on children’s mental and social development. Firstly, from primary school, most of the time kids are taken care of by teachers. Therefore, teachers would know what their students are devoid of instantaneously and tailor their teaching styles to cater for each student’s demands. For example, if an individual don’t know how to analyse the equations, the educators will immediately assist him in altering the misleading notions and stimulate his cognitive ability to solve the problems. Second, some teachers are specialized in training social skills, so it’s best to learn from them. Take making a speech as an example, unlike Vietnamese parents forcing their kids to learn by heart and repeat it when they are on the podium, teachers help them in not only memorizing key points easily but also expressing them naturally with the via verbal and non-verbal languages.

On the other hand, I believe that parental attention and guidance are also of pivotal importance to the enhancement of children’s thinking ability and social skills of their offsprings. To begin with,during their formative years, children are nurtured full-time by their parents. Hence, were it not for adequate and appropriate care from these people, children’s intelligence would be impaired. For instance, when parents cannot devote enough time and effort to make wholesome meals, kids would lack vitamins A,D,E,K and fatty acids in their daily consumption,which are crucial for the development of infant’s nervous system. Furthermore, the wellbeing of the family is another factor contributing to kids’ social ability. In particular, when exposed to fightings in a dysfunctional family, children will perpetuate violent behaviors or hold a disbelief about a ever-lasting marriage. As a consequence these kid will adopt an antisocial manner,hold a grudge against society and become a law-offender later in life.

In conclusion,both parents and teachers play essential roles in developing a child’s intelligence and social development.