These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society, which means people use things in a short time and then throw them away. Causes and problems.

There is little room for doubt that the living trend of purchasing and using products in only short amount of time has gained tremendous popularity in recent years. Some reasons for this phenomenon would be appropriately explained, leading to the interpretation of its impacts on the society.

There are two main factors leading to the unprecedented growth of this new living style. First, with the great help of technology, goods are able to be manufactured at the fast pace with a more reasonable price. For example, in the past, while people had to spend several years collecting money to possess a motorbike, now they only need around a year to save up, live economically and can be capable of getting a fairly good one. Another cause of this phenomenon comes from the globalization with the penetration of many cultures. By feeding the crowd with up-to-the-minute trends on a regular basis, it has caused one person a feeling of dissatisfaction and falling behind if he owns one product for too long.

From a general perspective, this issue has many drawbacks. First, the most transparent problem caused by the this lifestyle is the environmental pollution.When many people throwing a large number of products in a short time, they have directly overworked the national garbage managing system, pushing it to the verge of malfunctioning and destroying the ecosystem as a consequence. To be worse, this way of living can retard the economy development of one country. In order to fulfill the need of customers to replace products in a constant time, the manufacturers are likely to decrease the quality and the lifespan of the products, making it difficult for those goods to meet the demand of some world-topping importing markets like America, Japan or some EU nations.

In conclusion, though a variety of reasons results in the negative impact of the “throw-away” life style on daily life, there will obviously be many penalties that society could do to eliminate this issue.