Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past few decades it is seen that the phenomenal upsurge of cross-border travel. While some are concerned that the development may lead to rise to locals’ grudge against tourists, In my point of view this development nourishes mutual understanding of people from distinct cultural backgrounds.

There are some argues that the rise of global tourism is associated with conflict between foreign visitors and local citizens. These opponents claim that tourists tend to show scarce respect for local customs and religious beliefs. Take Thailand for example, certain acts of disrespect for the King are likely to generate resentment from the locals or even worse, visitors may be subject to custodial sentences. However, the scenario can somehow be avoided when foreigners do rigorous research about the host country before their arrival.

However, I think mutual understanding on cultural discrepancy can be promoted as a result of international tourism. Firstly, it is fair to say that this development can open up more opportunities for people from all over the world to establish relationships with local inhabitants. Thus, both tourists’ and locals’ perspectives of cultural distinctiveness in different parts of the world can be significantly broadened. Secondly, not only people’s knowledge of cultural background would be improved, the rise in international travel can boost international cooperation. In further, to facilitate overseas business development, businesses’ embrace of local cultural traits is considered a prerequisite.

In a conclusion, the increase in transnational travel should be seen as a drive for mutual understanding between different people with different cultures rather than the cause of tension.