Nowadays, many animal species are becoming extinct. Some people believe that countries and individuals must solve this problem, others believe that humans beings are more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the number of animal species at risk of extinction has been growing rapidly. Some people argue that this issue is less important than the issues about human life. They claim that focusing on endangered animal problems is just a waste of time and resources. However, some still see it equally important as dealing with the problems of humanity. In my opinion, both humanity and the animal species are important because they are interdependent and both are needed to maintain ecological balance.

Humans and animals are interdependent primarily because humans fed on a number of animals and animals thrive with the help of human knowledge. An important role which animals perform is the provision of meat for humans. For this reason, people raise livestock in order to support their basic need. People do not only raise animals for consumption, but many of them also domesticate animals because they find joy and satisfaction in doing so. The sense of relief which pets give to their masters has been proven beneficial by science.

Another reason is the need of human beings for a balanced ecosystem. Animals primarily become extinct because humans hunt them for consumption, ornament, and even entertainment. They do these without considering that it is causing imbalance. What would happen if birds become extinct? There would be problems in pollination which helps forestation of mountains which human beings reach. Animals fed on extinct smaller animals leave their homes. The crocodiles in some places, for instance, now fed on humans because they lack food in their natural habitat. If this ecological imbalance continues, humans would see themselves suffering from worse effects.

Human beings may have more radical issues than animals. However, as thinking and logical creatures, they should also not take for granted the species lower than them but are equally important. Humans should take seriously the issues of animal extinction to avoid more alarming problems that might arise from this.