Today people are surrounded by all kinds of advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people’s lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is indeed widespread nowadays, from TV commercials, radio ads, newspapers, magazines and even on the internet such as in YouTube and Facebook. While advertisements actually have a positive impact on the economy, I think the harm they are causing the lives of people witnessing them is serious. In many cases, advertising can mislead, distort reality, and create unrealistic expectations.

Advertising often deceives consumers by using false and confusing information in promoting a product. A good example of this is a bank promoting loans saying that they impose very low-interest rates but hiding large and unfair charges. Once all the documents are signed, that’s the only moment they would discover they are trapped.

Moreover, advertising distorts or manipulates by enticing consumers to live up to the standards set in the ads and forgetting about reality. For instance, an ad can convince a member of its audience to buy a luxurious car or jewelry using different techniques like a bandwagon and as a result, the victim buys the product without considering his actual capacity to pay.

Another way by which advertising harms the consumer’s mind is through the creation of unrealistic expectations. Companies usually edit photos and videos of endorsers or models making the target market believe that the effect is due to the use of a beauty product being promoted. Consequently, the consumer buys the product and ends up disappointed.

In conclusion, the misleading, distorting, and unrealistic qualities of advertising, indeed, are a threat to the consumers for they deceive, manipulate, brainwash, and enslave them. However, these can be prevented if the consumers are made aware of the venomous schemes of advertising and meticulous in distinguishing reliable advertisements. Finally, the government must be more stringent in regulating the production, publication, and airing of false advertisements.