Students learn more from their school teachers than from other sources such as the internet or television.

To what extent you agree or disagree with this statement?

Despite the increase in alternative sources of educational content like the internet and television, some people argue that students still learn more from their school teachers. While I do feel that these alternative sources play a greater part than they used to, I agree that school teachers are nonetheless the primary source of learning.

Looking at other sources of learning, it is easy to see their increasingly important role. The internet, in particular, has become home to a wealth of learning opportunities with websites like Kahn Academy and Codecademy that have made it possible to study with nothing other than a computer and an internet connection. Television, while less academically oriented, gives viewers insight into the world and culture around them through educational content in a way that was not previously possible.

Having acknowledged the prevalence of alternative sources, teachers still play the most important role in a child’s education. They painstakingly plan out lessons that are optimized to provide the best experience possible and help teach social norms that will allow their students to function well in the workplace after they finish their schooling. Combining this with the sheer amount of time that students spend in school with their teachers, it is easy to deduce that students learn more from teachers than other sources.

Overall, while other sources like the internet and television have been playing a growing part in the education of students, teachers still deserve to be recognized as the primary contributor to student learning. Not only do they spend their lives helping students learn in the most effective way possible, but they also help prepare a child for society by teaching them lessons that will serve them after they finish their schooling.