Task 2: Some employers find that their new employees lack in basic interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team. What are the causes of this problem? Suggest solutions

Working harmoniously with others is an important skill every employee, new and old alike, should possess in order to contribute to the company’s growth. However, in many workplaces, newly hired staff are having a hard time dealing well with others and this scenario often leads to low performance. In addressing this, managers should first dig its causes and employ appropriate solutions.

Generally speaking, a person’s inability to work well with others is caused by differences in personality and lack of training. Every person has a different personality and one that hinders social growth is introversion which sometimes results in seclusion or separation from the group. Another reason is lack of training. While differences in personality are unavoidable, managing them is possible. That is why personality development, a subject aiming to capacitate students to bring out the best in them, work well with others and grow in all aspects by matching the right personality with the situation, is taught in most courses.

In enhancing newbies’ interpersonal skills, peer-mentoring and team-building activities can be of great help. Peer mentoring or having neophytes work with the experienced ones will give them the opportunity to build rapport. Moreover, team-building activities aiming to enhance camaraderie, cooperation, and collaboration among employee, in my opinion, is another good remedy for both personality problem and lack of training. During such activities, employees are given the chance to mingle both with their colleagues and bosses, which is helpful in understanding and finding beauty in their differences to become an effective team.

Summing up, it is important to enhance employees’ interpersonal skills. In doing this, managers should recognize that differences in personality and lack of training can hinder the goal. However, peer mentoring and team building activities are good solutions that can address the issues.