Nowadays in many countries young people leave rural areas to study or work in cities. What are the reasons for this? Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, in a lot of countries, youths migrate from rural to urban areas in order to study or work, and this pays off with a better living standard. The advancement is often cherished as a vast achievement, but this comes with untold risks threatening to negate any benefit it brings.

It is obvious that young people relocate to cities because of better jobs or higher institution, and they usually get more satisfactory ones. For example, the average youth in the city get double wages and has access to advanced technological schools compared to those in rural areas. So, the usual complaints that they are living below poverty line, or they are studying unwanted courses in less developed areas, are being resolved.

Despite these benefits, working or studying in cities have some disadvantages which will be taken into account. Firstly, cities tend to be overcrowded as more and more youths move in and, consequently, accommodation would be more difficult and somewhat unaffordable. Secondly, transportation in urban areas may pose some health problems to young ones. Since there are a lot of vehicles that are emitting carbon dioxide in the air that many individuals are inhaling, there would be a rising rate of respiratory diseases or cancer, which is dangerous to the health of youths. Finally, the overall cost of living may be higher than budgeted because money would be spent on unexpected expenses ranging from housing, tuition to health-related issues, and this is unfavourable cost for young adults.

In conclusion, the ever-increasing relocation rate of many young ones from the rural to urban areas is primarily to get better paying jobs or quality education, which is being achieved. However, major downsides of relocating to cities, such as unfavorable health condition and high cost of living are so much that its benefits are no longer valued.