Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

In the modern world, many employees are put under high pressure and their working hours expand excessively. The main reasons leading to these problems are that job market around the world has become increasingly competitive and to lessen this situation, employers can support their workers by creating the best possible working environment and having suitable treatment to their staff.

The primary reason causing stressful life for workers is the high competition in finding job. Over the past decades when there is a growth in workforce and lack of job, everyone has very few opportunities to seek work and keeping occupation is more difficult. Besides, the employers want their company to develop as much as possible, so they always set high goals which are very hard to achieve for employees. As a result, workers have to work at full capacity in order not to be made redundant. Not only working for more hours but aslo these labour might suffer an extreme high pressured and tired life and face some mental health problems like obesity, hemorrhoids, arthropathy… due to the lack of free time for exercise. At last but not least, people’s ambition to get high salary and move up the career ladder aslo make them worker harder and harder.

The best way to release this problem is that the managers have to design a comfortable working environment by not putting them under pressure of working excessively. A staff cannot totally concentrate on his task and get high productivity while always feels stressed and worried about his uncertain job. Furthermore, a right usage to staff can release their anxiety. For example, the employers should encourge and reward people who have an excellent performance. By contrast, to employees who are have trouble in work, the maneger should listen, share experiences, and be with them to tackle the problem instead of reprimanding and firing them.

In conclusion, the reasons cause stressful life for workers are especially apparent because of the fierce job competition and their career ambitions. The way for the employers to address this problem is that they should create a pleasant working atmosphere and have a friendly relationship with their staff.