Nowadays, many people buy things excessively. Do the advantages outweigh the

disadvantages?

Nowadays, consumerism has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although

this trend is not without disadvantages, the upsides will justify these.

On the one hand, consumerism which has seen as an unstoppable rise offers a number of

manifest benefits. First, since mass production is significantly growing from this trend,

job opportunities are provided for everyone more than ever. In fact, professions, such as

office work or manual work, from factories and companies are available, helping people,

especially the poor, access to employment to increase their income. Second, by going

shopping at a frequent level, people can increase their living standards. This means that

those with regular income, whether average or high, have a desire to make their families

fully equipped or to help them satisfy their shopping needs, leading to higher levels of

happiness.

On the other hand, consumerism also has some adverse consequences. First, with a view to meeting the soaring demands of customers, manufacturers and factories have created a mass manufacturing process, which is the main culprit for overproduction. Apparently, merchandise, whether manufactured or purchased, all finally becomes waste, which results in long- term environmental degradation because it takes plastic bags or packing hundreds of years to decompose. Second, if many citizens become impulsive customers, they are susceptible to waste a lot of money on purchasing items they do not need. In fact, many customers willing to spend beyond their income to constantly buying without considering thoroughly, which leads them into debt or the mortgage of personal property.

In conclusion, despite some drawbacks, such as environmental degradation, shopping addiction, consumerism plays a vital role in upgrading life quality as well as boosting national economic well-being.