Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What

measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Today reading and writing are problems to a lot of people. The main problem is that it affects every individual, both socially and financially and the most viable solution is to widely educate people to know basically how to read and write.

The primary problem of this phenomenon is that Illiterate individuals face a lot of difficulties in life. Specifically, they have a higher rate of unemployment, as companies don’t want to take on staff having little schooling, so they usually make less money than others. Limited ability to read and write also impact on their health, because they are more frequent to misuse public instruction through ignorance of health care resources such as warnings, signs or dosage. For example, Sunday Times News reports that up to 70% of illiterate people feel underestimated and insecure when they are outdoors.

To tackle this problem, the government should educate people widely through the media and in schools. Most of the people who can not either read or write are adults, because they are not well-educated for many reasons in the past. A public education campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to learn flexibly through TV or some public classes held by the government. For example, a parallel initiative in Japan 40 years ago resulted in an 82% increase in the literacy rate, making a significant contribution to the wealthy and developed Japan today.

In conclusion, the rising number of people who can not either read or write is a major issue that can negatively impact the life of those individuals in many ways, however it can be addressed through educating people widely.