Some people claim that museums and art galleries are not needed today, because everyone can see historical objects or art works by computer. Do you agree or disagree?

It is debated that historical objects, paintings or documents are unnecessary to be stored in museums or art collectors because computing technology can handle that. This essay totally agrees with that statement because we can access to any material beyond distance and that time and expenditure can be considerably reduced.

Computers can store a number of digital prehistoric material or famous paintings around the world. That is to say that people can see various things of ancient Rome or Chinese culture, which can be attained on the Internet without having to travel to foreign countries. This will allow people to easily accumulate more historic information of different regions, thus strengthening their knowledge. For example, Australia recently launched a website serving as a library where people can see and download any old drawings of famous national painters.

Using a computer instead of going to museums or historical places fosters time and money savings. In other words, individuals have to spend hours and cash to visit and see things that were used in the past visually, which can be assuredly less time consuming by searching using a smartphone or laptop at home. But not only do museums and libraries cost tourists and residents, those can also consume millions of money from taxpayers, which can be used to tackle poverty or fund charity instead. For example, the US government reckoned that the expenditure for building a museum is relatively equal to building a small apartment for the local people. However, the allure of observing visually should be taken into consideration because watching remotely provides less realistic feelings.

In conclusion, historic preservation should be performed by digital technology instead of using facilities or institutes because it can help people see more and reducing time and money efforts.