Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that self-sufficiency in food production is what nations should do, rather than importing from other countries. This essay totally agrees with that statement because food insecurity can lead to crisis and that self-produced food aids the economy and social conditions.

Reliance on food imports prompts a potential crisis in a country. We have seen the severe damage of the international food crisis impacted on Kenya in 2007, creating thousands of sleeping roughs and even deaths. This situation can happen anywhere regardless of countries, if the inability of serving the country’s needs for food is prominent especially in times of natural disasters or war-like situations, when there is an enormous need for food or international trade is prohibited. So it is preferable that countries producing their own meat and vegans to be independent from unforeseen situations and have access to nutritious food.

Improving the agricultural sector can contribute to the sustainable development of the country. That is to say that the creation of jobs helps improve the unemployment rate and eradicate poverty, especially in developing countries where literacy levels are low. And if crops produced exceed the country’s demand, the surplus can be exported and enriches the country's economy. For example, the agricultural sector contributed to 45% of total international revenue of Vietnam in 2018, creating thousands of job opportunities for people in deprived areas. This means that if we can produce food in a self-sustained manner, we are building a healthy community.

In conclusion, food security is unquestionable because it avoids all citizens from suffering badly from food insufficiency and is a sign of an improved society and economy.