It is sometimes said that countries should produce all the food for their populations to eat and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that the government in some countries should be self-efficient in providing food for their entire residents and import as least as possible. While I understand the logic behind this suggestion, I still firmly disagree with it for several reasons.

Those who believe that the authorities should grow all crops and limit imports may have several arguments. They may well argue that farmers can have more agricultural works to do helping them have a better life. This is because if all the plants are grown in their countries, the food demand will increase which can lead to the fact that farmers can have more works to do, thereby improving their life. Another possible argument is that the food's price in the markets and supermarkets will decrease which can allow people to better their financial families. This benefit stems from the fact that food does not need to be transferred from many countries which can reduce the transportation fee, therefore citizens can easily buy food to eat without costing a lot of money.

Nevertheless, I still oppose this view for several reasons. Chief among these is that If the government limits imports, this action will reduce the variety of food choices. The reason for this is that each country has weather conditions and geographical features thereby affecting the growth of crops. In tropical countries, for example, in Viet Nam, farmers can not grow many fruits such as apples, cherries, and so on since the tropical climate is not an ideal temperature for these fruits to develop. The second factor is that there will be an increase in the proportion of unemployment if once importing is reduced. The export companies can not make a profit due to the limits of import policies, therefore they have to release their staff in order to ease the salary fund.

In conclusion, It is understandable why some may argue that countries must produce their own food for entire nations and limit impots. However, I can not support such a view given the aforementioned reasons.