Most people these days prefer getting news online to reading newspapers or watching TV. Do you think it is a positive development?

Today many men and women are having a preference for reading news on the internet instead of traditional newspapers and television. This essay will argue that this is a positive development because it alleviates paper consumption and facilitates fast and convenient news for people.

Going online to read news will reduce the amount of paper used. This is mainly because newspapers are manufactured by this type of material, yet documents for broadcasting news on TV. Therefore, the transition of reading news to online platforms will result in the demand of newspapers declining, hence the total amount of paper consumed every day will be considerably decreased. For example, Australia recently reported that every year 30% of total trees are cut down for producing newspapers and paper-related products.

Online newspapers can trigger the emergence of quick and easy news for people. The primary reason for many people choosing news on the internet to read is that those news are shorter and clearer in order to be kept informed rapidly. Taking my personal experience as an example, I follow news on the internet because I don’t want to miss any latest political statement from the government. So because of this predicament, traditional news on newspapers and TV will be forced to adapt, creating shorter and more clarity news to drive more people into those platforms, putting a kibosh on long and exaggerated news and headlines in society.

In conclusion, reading news through smartphones and computers is conducive to future development because it minimises the amount of paper consumption and fosters the transparency of news for people.