Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some would argue that being a host for an international sporting competition is conducive to the development of the country, while others believe that it is not good. Although an international event will exploit a large amount of money from the nation, the chance to be more well-known is much more preferable.

One the one hand, holding an event for worldwide sportsmen needs the government to invest in sports facilities. That is to say that the increasing intensity of sports demands not only the quality of stadiums and training facilities but the capability of athletes in order to compete at an international level. Hence, it is vital that states have to make uncountable investments, which will cost billions of money from taxpayers, for the betterence of those facilities and domestic competitors so they can achieve success and make the nation proud. For example, the Vietnam government estimates 20 billion dollars have to be spent for organising SEA Games 23, a regional sport event. However, those investments merit to be made because it is good for the long term achievement, and that the country will have more excellent sportpersons entitled to compete worldwide

On the other hand, being a host can draw a global level of attraction to the country. To be more specific, the host country will be a destination for a number of competitors regardless of nationalities, yet spectators, viewers across countries and the global media. This once of a lifetime opportunity not only creates various financial benefits for the country, partly resulting in the rising amount of money from travelers, but also produces huge attraction from foreigners through social media, TV broadcasts, or news. For example, a survey found that the SEA Game held in 2003 brought about a 76% increase in the number of people travelling to or knowing about Vietnam, which had never been seen before. I believe this school of thought is preferable because it benefits both socially and economically.

In conclusion, although establishing a worldwide sport event cost a considerable amount of money, it is good for long term objects and creates numerous attraction opportunities.