Task 2: More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many people are spending money on products of popular brands. The primary reason for this precadiment is that the living standard is rising and I believe this is a negative development because it prevents healthy competition among companies

The underlying cause associated with people wanting to have merchandise of well-known brands is the rising standard of living. That is to say that famous brands' products invariably come with high quality and cost, many people, meanwhile, are earning more with high-paying jobs, so it is understandable that they want to possess luxurious, branded products regardless of the cost as a reward for hard working and life enjoyment. For example, Iphones are globally accepted for its stability thus the price is increasing every year, however it is being bought growingly predominantly because many people are wealthier.

This predicament will produce an unhealthy competition among corporations. To be more specific, the tendency of buying items of popular brands will lead to an unreasonably higher price of those products because of the rising demand. At the same time, it diminishes the appeal of other products, leaving smaller companies and startups harder to make profit thus unable to compete fairly with global corporations . For example, Vsmart used to struggle to sell products in its own country Vietnam because Apple and Samsung already dominated the market share, so it was hard to drive people to buy less-popular products such as Vsmart phones.

In conclusion, famous brand items are being bought increasingly because people are more prosperous and this is a major issue leading to an unhealthy environment for small companies within a country to develop.