Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, the idea of setting up a start-up has become increasingly popular. Recently, people have started to opt for self-employment, instead of working as a full-time employee in a big multinational company. This essay will discuss what are the causes of increased number of entrepreneurs including independent working and low wages from large firms. Also, this essay will explore the demerits of having one’s own start-up.

To begin with, in today’s era, with advancement in technology and access to multiple resources, people tend to come up with new innovative ideas of starting their own company. The primary cause for this is that upcoming youth do not accept the culture of bossing around; that happens in corporates. For instance, research show that 50% of people setting up new organization was mainly because they wanted to work independently without management’s pressure. Additionally, one of the compelling reasons could be that the corporates does not pay well. To sum up, due to reasons like corporate pressure and lower income many people switch to self-employment.

On the other hand, self-employment does not guarantee steady flow of income as it depends on growth and development of the start-up. During initial few months, many entrepreneurs face challenges like no clients, no sales, no increment in terms of profit. Mc-Donald’s, for example, initially had the lowest sales among all the food chains in market, and the owner was about to shut down the business due to no sales. Furthermore, self-employed people do not have perks and benefits of corporate schemes like health cover insurance, Mediclaim and food cards. To recapitulate, although there are many reasons to become an entrepreneur; there are some drawbacks as well.

In conclusion, in this essay we discussed the reasons of becoming an entrepreneur like independent working and low wages. We also explored few disadvantages including unsteady flow of money and not getting the advantages of corporate schemes.