Throughout education, boys often play sports for longer and more often than girls. Why do you think this is? Do you think this should be changed?

During schooling, boys have much more opportunities of playing sports than girls. In this essay, I will discuss why this happens and should this continue in future, or the stigma should be broken. Firstly, I will discuss the reasons why boys get more chances to participate in sports than girls. Secondly, I will explore why this shouldn’t be continued ahead and equal opportunities should be given to both.

It is always noted that number of boys in educational institutions joining sports teams and clubs is more because of higher opportunities and number of teams available for them. While, girls only have handful of teams to join. In addition to that, there is a stereotype, that girls should participate only in traditional subjects. For example, girls should join subjects like music, literature and arts, whereas boys should be involved in sports. Apart from this, there is a parental pressure on students for selecting a particular subject based on their gender.

Equal opportunities should be given to both, irrespective of their gender. Girls and Boys should be given chance to take up all the subjects in their early age and continue with it for their post-graduation as per their interests. Furthermore, sports play key role in physical fitness and well-being of an individual. Another thing to add is that, participating in sports will also improve social skills and sense of team-work among students.

In conclusion, there is a noticeable trend of a greater number of boys involved in sports than girls. But girls should also be given equal opportunities for reasons mentioned above.