Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or an organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, many people decide to build a company that is under their responsibility, their budget and their management instead of working for other companies or organizations. This essay will look into some reasons which and analyze several disadvantages of this trend.

There are some causes leading to this case. Firstly, if you are successful in your start-up, you can get a lot of money. Indeed, when you work for a company or corporation, you just earn about from 10 to 20 million Dong. Although the compensation and benefit will higher with manager position, it is still lower than the amount of money earned from start-up. The second reason worth mentioning is that there are more fields with technological development such as online trading, digital marketing in which you can establish a company with your money and suit with your ability. We just invest our time, our responsibility and a little money, then we have a private company.

It is no doubt that this trend can result in many drawbacks. Firstly, there is a variety of health impacts on self-employed people. Mental health, for example, a lot of people feel stress when they start up a company because of heavy workload. In terms of negative points, if start-up is failed, it will lead to psychological problems even suicide. In addition, the labor market will lose the balance between supply and demand. Companies on the market cannot recruit high-quality labor leading to reduce the performance of company, it also affects the economy of countries because of decreasing domestic products.

To conclude, this trend is caused by some causes, it might have a variety of negative influences.