Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The number of people choosing to start their own businesses and be self-employed has been in a bloom lately, as the people are growing frustrated with the work structure in their office jobs. But there are a plethora of issues associated with working for yourself, which are described in the forthcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, people nowadays view their work as a part of their lifestyle, rather than something that is to be done sustain a living. They want to work without the bounds of an office, with noone watching over their heads, which they can achieve by working for themselves. Moreover, being self employed provides people with the freedom of flexible timing, while working from anywhere they like rather than being in the bounds of a cubical, which justifies the appeal of self-employment to the youths. In addition, not having a part in the unnecessary office culture is the added advantage liked by most introverts, contributing the raise to fame of self-employment.

Meanwhile, running an personal business means the problems associated are to be faced and shorted after by a single person as well. The major disadvantage of being self-employed is the lack of trust among the customers, as most of such businesses are run by youths, leading to a hassle in finding people to buy their services. Moreover, people who are mostly freelancers are ofter provided with task assignments in a seasonal basis, such that the income is often unstable, which wouldn’t be the case in an office job. Additionally, self-run businesses are often the ones targetted by scammers and frauds, rather than heavily secured multinational companies, as they are easy to pursue.

To conclude, people nowadays are gravitated towards being self-employed, with the often glamorized notion of flexible timings, no supervisors and work from home opportunities, but there are a myriad of disadvantages linked to it, including unstable earning, lack of trust among customers and getting targetted by scammers, which often remains unnoticed