Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company

or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Many people these days decide to work for themselves instead of being employed by others. This essay discusses the reasons for this and also the drawbacks of this choice of career.

There are two main reasons why people are choosing to become self-employed. The main one is that people feel motivated to become entrepreneurs. This is because they see running their own businesses as an exciting challenge. For instance, I was bored with my regular job teaching at a school and so I started my own online IELTS teaching company in order to have a more stimulating work day. In addition, running your own business can lead to better long-term career prospects. If you work hard at your business and develop enthusiastically satisfied customers you will be deriving all the benefits rather than passing these on to an employer.

Running your own business is not without its drawbacks. The biggest downside is the risk of venturing out on your own. If the business is not successful you will not have an income. For instance, my uncle opened a restaurant, but it turned out his cooking skills were not as good as he thought and he could not attract enough customers to pay all his bills and finally he became bankrupt. As well is this, it can be extremely stressful to run your own business. This can often be due to the lack of resources to help you with issues such as the need to run your own website.

In conclusion, many people are venturing out on their own due to their interest in running their own business and believing that they will have a better career. However, it should be kept in mind that this can be risky and stressful. Therefore, this type of career is not suited to all people.