Some people say that to be successful in sport it is more important to be physically strong. Others argue that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on the role of physical and mental strength in what lies at the core of one's success in sports. I believe that one is not necessarily more important than the other, as I will explain now.

Supporters of physical prowess point out that most sports require players to compete physically, for example in football or basketball games. this means that a striker in a soccer match is often required to ensure high levels of stamina throughout a match so that he can dribble past defenders, sprint towards his opponents' goal. finish and be ready to assist his fellow teammates when necessary. this can be seen in the way Sadio Mane and many other successful soccer players like cristiano ronaldo and Messi perform in their games, and it is estimated that the average distance that they run in a game is around 11 kilometers. without being physically prepared for such an arduous task, they might not have achieved their levels of success in their sport.

On the other hand, though, those who say that mental prowess, not physical one, plays the deciding role highlight the fact that one can hardly stick to his training schedule and succeed in the face of adversity, if he is not self-disciplined, or in other words, mentally strong. Exceptional sportsmen like cristiano ronaldo and Michael Phelps, who train vigorously every day, clearly illustrate this principle. it was reported that cristiano ronaldo, despite possessing many desirable innate physical attributes and abilities such as height and speed, has never missed a training session and he even trained all by himself on the night he won the UFA championship, one of the most coveted titles in football. Perhaps, without mental resilience, even those with sporting talents cannot thrive.

In conclusion, physical and mental capabilities are equally important when it comes to what fundamentally decides whether one is likely to achieve success in his sport.