Nowadays many students live with their families while others go to another city to study at a university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both scenarios.

In this contemporary world, tertiary education has become immensely popular. To pursue higher education, a number of students start living in a new city whereas some students still stay with their families. Both options of living have some benefits and shortcomings which will be discussed in this essay.

Living with a family has some clear advantages that make it the prime choice for students around the world. Pupils can properly concentrate on their studies as they need not participate in different household activities such as grocery, cleaning and paying utility bills. Being free from such household chores allows the students to allocate more time in studies which is likely to results in higher academic grade. However, the distance between the family residence and the university may become the major problem for staying with family. Statistics suggest that 80% of university students of the USA enrolled form distant cities or countries. If those students chose to continue their education from home, it would be impossible for them to find a standard educational institution at hometown.

On the other hand, shifting to a new place for education tend to have some benefits. Students can learn many life skills when living alone which help them prosper in their professional life. With such self-dependent citizens, a country is likely to achieve its optimum growth backed by its human capital. Nevertheless, difficulty to maintain the remaining living costs possess as a threat to living alone in a new city for education. As a result, many students need to engage in a part-time job to keep up their residential expenses at the cost of their study time. Poor academic grades, drop-outs are some of the instances arise from shifting in another city.

In summary, both of the living methods of university students have some pros and cons. Therefore, students should select their living options cautiously to avoid or minimize the disadvantages.