Nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks are done by machines which involve hard physical work. Do these positive effects of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

Human beings have researched machines for centuries, expecting to bring more convenience to society. There has a tendency that machines are replacing hard physical jobs which were performed by mankind gradually. Although some people support that the positive impact of this trend would far more than the negative ones, I still think the wide application of machines could bring many drawbacks.

Admittedly, it sounds plausible that adopting machines would improve work efficiency. Contemporary intelligent equipment are most adjusted by advanced technology. Thus, they have the ability to tackle difficult problems rapidly and finish their tasks accurately, boosting the efficiency of the assembly line. For example, many car- washes services are provided by machines to substitute manual labour. This kind of service saves drivers’ time with an outstanding cleaning result.

Although the statement above is understandable, I still believe that replacing human workforce by machines is not a positive tendency. Firstly, this trend is not benefiting comprehensive development of small-size companies. In order to catch the counterparts’ pace, such small companies need to afford a large expenditure on introducing intelligent control system. Consequently, there may not enough money to improve other vital parts so the company could not expand further. For example, paying more attention to equipment would decrease the employees’ welfare, leading to the disloyalty of workers.

Additionally, the economic burden of the government would be accumulated if mankind workforce are replaced by machines. It is obvious that lacking economic resources make many employees cannot support their families and life. Therefore, government has to update related policies to drop the unemployment rate and give assistance to people who lose their jobs. In this way, the whole society would suffer great layoff pressure.

In conclusion, I believe that introducing machines to jobs without limitation is not a positive trend. Although machines could bring some convenience to human life, the drawbacks cannot be ignored.