Nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks are done by machines which involve hard physical work. Do the positive effects of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

Technological advances introduce a revolution to companies. A huge variety of tasks are completed by machines, replacing traditional workers. In my point of view, this tendency leads to more positive effects than negative ones.

Firstly, mechanised workforce improves the efficiency of factories. Nowadays, most repetitive tasks could be done by automatic machine systems. Employees do not need to design and check products several times a day because the assembly line runs quickly and rapidly under the control of programme. In this situation, companies would produce more products with higher quality compared with outdated manual work. Thus, applying machines to basic works would enable the factory to be more efficient.

Secondly, expenditure on salaries could be saved for companies to advance cutting-edge products. Intelligent machines help employees finish some physical jobs, and also replace a part of workers. In this situation, the spending on salaries would be decreased for a factory and this money can be mainly invested in developing new products. For instants, Apple now introduces advanced mechanised assembly lines instead of employing human workforce. So, the company could concentrate more expenditure on researching hi-tech industries. Thus, using machines assists a company to develop further.

However, there still exists some drawbacks of applying machines to the company. The most obvious one is that this trend may lead to a high unemployment rate. Since most of the easy works are completed by robots, workers who do not master a personal skill may lose their jobs. In this case, governments would have a huge financial burden on supporting these citizens’ life. Therefore, replacing human labour with machines could lead to economic pressure on society.

In conclusion, the mechanised working environment provides more possibilities to companies. However, it would cause a negative influence on society. In the future, I believe that such issues could be addressed with the improvement of education and life quality.