Some people say that governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Physical health is one of the main subjects of discussion among the public. There comes an opinion that governments should prevent citizens from contracting an illness by tackling environmental and housing problems. I completely agree with this statement.

Firstly, the surrounding environment influences people’s body directly. The introduction of a large number of cars and the development of mass-industries are polluting air and water system in modern life. In this situation, people are easy to suffer from some diseases after drinking and breathing for a long time. For example, Beijing is facing a serious challenge that heavy pollution leads to an increasing patients number. Therefore, the government bears a financial burden since much money is invested in this area. Thus, the key to protect citizens from illness is to pay more attention to the basic living environment.

Secondly, solving housing problems is another efficient way to ensure people’s physical fitness. It is obvious that more and more employees cannot afford a house or even an apartment, especially in a big city. The dramatic price of this basic need makes citizens suffering high living pressure. In this case, they have to earn more money without considering about body health. As a result, we can see that the health condition of young people is getting worse in recent years. There was an example that some employees working in Shenzhen choose to end their lives in the ’30s because of the house price. Therefore, it is necessary for the government to adopt a related policy to control the housing market. After solving the living problem of most citizens, illness and disease could be prevented naturally.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that it is important for governments to pay attention to pollution and living problem. Therefore, citizens could enjoy a healthy life. In the future, the investment in these two areas may need to be increased.