Nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks are done by machines which involve hard physical work. Do these positive effects of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

For centuries, people have fantasized that someday machines could have intelligence like mankind and work as faithful servants. Nowadays, it is common that more and more jobs and tasks which involve hard physical work are done by machines. Although some people believe the positive impacts of the tendency would far more than the negative ones, I believe the issue of the wide application of machines can be deemed as beneficial as detrimental.

On the one hand, there is no denying that hi-tech machines bring about an array of positive aspects, such as high work efficiency and low work risk. First, the workload that could take months to finish by manual labor could be done flawlessly by machines in minutes, which allows individuals to be involved in other more meaningful and challenging activities. It means ordinary workers could have more time and energy to enjoy their life. Second, it is widely acknowledged that machines could substitute man for high-risk jobs, like mining and construction, which commonly involve hard physical work. By adopting machines in those work places, people’s safety can be ensured to a considerable degree.

On the other hand, there are numerous demerits which should not be neglected. To begin with, more people may lose jobs or suffer great layoff pressure when machines take their places, especially in the mass production industry such as the automobile business. In factories of the famous car company Ford, almost every step of assembly line work is done by giant robots that work faster with higher reliability and precision. As a consequence, employees will suffer great pressure resulting from layoff. Besides, machines cannot work in a flexible way as people do, and they are less likely to make corresponding changes once something unexpected happens. If a wrong code runs in one machine, there may be thousands of defective products appearing on the production line.

Taking all factors into account, although machines have many merits that make our life easier and more convenient, the demerits should not be ignored as workers may be afflicted with unemployment stress and the number of inferior goods may be huge.