Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transportations like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The vehicle-free days are popular in some cities to encourage citizens choosing buses, underground and taxis in the city centre. I completely support that the advantages of this policy are more than its disadvantages.

Public transportations improve the transporting efficiency, especially in crowded places like the city centre. To be more specific, residents spend less time traveling to destinations if private cars and motorcycles are not allowed to use in popular areas of the city. This is because traffic problems which result from vehicle amounts such as congestions and accidents could be prevented, making passengers arrive the city centre quicker than before. Thus, the transportation efficiency in crowded places would be enhanced with the control of private cars.

Limiting the number of vehicles in the city centre is benefit for the physical health of the public. Diseases related to the air quality would be avoided with the decrease of car emissions since such gas is the main source of air pollution. For example, some big cities in China such as Beijing and Shanghai encourage citizens to take public transportations by setting a low price of buses and undergrounds, aiming to improve the air quality in crowded areas since these cities are suffering a serious problem of air pollution.

However, some people may find it is inconvenient without using cars and motorcycles in the city centre. People who live far away from bus stations might spend more time traveling to the destination in such a crowded area. Thus, policies about vehicle-free may bring troubles to them.

In conclusion, I think vehicle-free has more advantages than disadvantages since it improves the transportation efficiency and is benefit for health.