Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

It is true that there has been increasingly more competition between the young and the old who are in search in the same jobs. While there are some negative consequences of this trend, certain measures can be adopted to mitigate these potential problems.

When older applicants have to compete with the younger ones for a job, several related problems can be anticipated. First and foremost, this may be the main culprit of an increase in the rate of youth unemployment. To explain, older people tend to be given favourable consideration by recruiters due to their vast experience in comparison with the young generation, which may lead to the scarcity of work for younger people. Furthermore, this competition may exert an adverse effect on the citizens’ quality of life. This is because if youngsters suffer from being unemployed and the shortage of a stable source of income, some of them may commit crimes to feed themselves and their family. As a result, not only will the life quality of the young diminish, but their safety will also be threatened.

However, the problems described above can be combated by implementing some measures. The most important solution is decreasing the legal retirement age. To illustrate, if this policy is introduced, the pressure of competition can be alleviated. An ideal resolution to alleviate the threats of job competition between the young and the old is to raise the state pension. This is due to that some retirees who find their pension sufficient for living will not have to return to work.

To sum up, the situation of competing for a job among youngsters and older people results in some problems such as the growth of unemployed young people or the dinimishing of citizens’ quality of life. However, various actions can be taken to tackle the problems, including declining the legal retirement age and increasing the state pension.