Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrants should abandon their old ways and adapt to local customs and codes of behavior.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that immigration has become trendy with an increasing number of immigrants each year. It also comes with an issue of whether or not immigrants should change their behavior to adapt to their new country. This essay agrees with this statement because some old customs or behaviors are not acceptable in their adopted country, and it is for the good sake of uniting.

Firstly, it is vitally important for newcomers to observe the laws as their old customs might not appropriate to the new country’s law and for the aim of social order. By obeying the new laws, immigrants can avoid involving in any serious cases such as a police state. One particular good instance of this is traffic regulations – imagine what a mess it would cause if people refuse to drive on the same side of the road. Another example that’s worth mentioning is the possession of firearms and gambling, it can be permitted in some countries but illegal in others.

Secondly and equally essential, respecting the social norm of host country and code of behavior is a good way to build a societal cohesion. Many immigrants coming to a country means that there are various customs brought to the new community. Thus, it makes the country color and vibrancy. The laws help people live in the same living mode; however, too much cultural diversity may weaken a society by alienating people from each other. For instance, learning the native language makes communication between newcomers and local dweller easier.

To conclude, it is necessary for immigrants to learn new local rules and behavior so that they will find it easy to be integrated into new country. Although those old rules are acceptable in their native country, they are strictly prohibited in the host country. Moreover, by obeying new regulations, they are making great contributions to their host country.